Welcome to The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
 




Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: FAILURE TO STOP AND RENDER AID (HIT/RUN, LEAVING THE SCENE) 

   Back        Print  

 
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Section:II Driver's License LawsEffective: 07/01/1986
Number:17.00Revised: 06/05/2018

FAILURE TO STOP AND RENDER AID (HIT/RUN, LEAVING THE SCENE)

POLICY:

To view Louisiana Statues: http://www.legis.state.la.us/

AUTHORITY
R.S. 32:414B(4)
R.S. 32:414.2A(1)(a) and (4)(c)

DEFINITION
The Department shall suspend the driving privileges of any person upon receiving satisfactory evidence of conviction for a charge of Failure to Stop and Render Aid, Hit and Run or Leaving the Scene of an Accident, as required under the laws of this State when a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death or personal injury of another person has occurred. However, if a CDL holder is convicted of any of the charges listed above, they shall be suspended and disqualified only if there is an injury or fatality. If there is no fatality, a disqualification only will be taken regardless of the vehicle being driven at the time of the violation.

COMPLIANCE
  • The mandatory suspension period of 365 days must be served.
  • FEES
    • $60 reinstatement fee must be paid in addition to any fees owed for other statutory requirements.

    RELATED POLICIES
    30.00 Hardship License Requirements
    36.00 Reinstatement Fees


    Back