Welcome to The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
 




Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: LICENSE PLATE FOR ANTIQUE, CLASSIC, OR VINTAGE MOTOR VEHICLES 

   Back        Print  

 
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Section:V Motor Vehicle License Plate Classifications & RequirementsEffective: 07/03/1979
Number:1.00Revised: 04/09/2018

LICENSE PLATE FOR ANTIQUE, CLASSIC, OR VINTAGE MOTOR VEHICLES

POLICY:


To View Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/
To view Special Plates: http://omv.dps.state.la.us/

AUTHORITY
R.S. 47:462
R.S. 47:463.8

DEFINITION
The law provides for the issuance of special license plates for antique, classic or vintage motor vehicles that are twenty five (25) years or older.

ELIGIBILITY
Any private passenger automobile, van, private truck up to 16,000 lbs, motor home, or motorcycle which is at least twenty-five (25) years old without modifications contrary to stock specifications, is eligible for this plate.

REQUIREMENTS
All applications for initial issuance or transfer of an Antique license plate must be accompanied by:
  • A current color photograph of the vehicle.
  • A notarized affidavit (DPSMV 1911) attesting to the fact that the vehicle has no modifications contrary to stock specifications
  • OR a photocopy of a card showing applicant's membership in an antique car club.

Note:
  • The requirements must also be submitted when the vehicle is sold, if the new owner chooses to retain the plate.
  • If the vehicle is not registered in the applicant's name, proper title documentation and fees must be submitted along with the request for the Antique license plate.

FEES
  • $25.00 - one-time fee.
  • $8.00 - handling fee
  • $3.50 - administrative handling fee due only on initial issuance.
  • $3.00 - transfer fee if transferring to a new owner
  • $36.50 - $25.00 one-time fee, $8.00 handling fee, and $3.50 administrative handling fee to convert to the special plate.
NOTES:
  • This is a lifetime plate with no renewal.
  • Credit is not allowed on the $25.00 one-time fee.

1911 - Antique Plate Affidavit R0418.pdf


RELATED POLICIES
Section IV 2.00 Basic Requirements for Titling a Vehicle
8.01 Application for Title on Antique, Classic, or Vintage Vehicles When No Current Record of Ownership Exists





    Back