Welcome to The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
OMV Policy & Procedure: TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PERMIT FOR VEHICLES BEING REGISTERED OUT OF STATE (IN-TRANSIT)
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
V Motor Vehicle License Plate Classifications & Requirements
TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PERMIT FOR VEHICLES BEING REGISTERED OUT OF STATE (IN-TRANSIT)
To View Louisiana Statutes:
The Office of Motor Vehicles
or its authorized agents may issue a 30 day Temporary Registration Permit ( In-Transit) to authorize a motor vehicle to be operated upon the highways if the owner purchased the vehicle with the intention to permanently take the vehicle out of this state. The Temporary Registration Permit (In-Transit) may be issued to automobiles, boat trailers, camper trailers, trucks, motorcycles, or other motor driven cycles.
An owner is eligible to receive only one Temporary Registration Permit (In-Transit) per vehicle sold.
The permit expires 30 days from the date of issuance.
The permit shall be clearly visible at all times (fastened to the rear or in the rear window of the vehicle).
PERMITS SOLD BY THE OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
The Office of Motor Vehicles may sell a Temporary Registration Permit (In-Transit) to an individual. Personal checks will not be accepted.
$5.50 - each
$8.00 - handling fee
The owner must destroy the 30-day Temporary Registration Permit (In-Transit) immediately upon expiration.
Temporary Registration Permits (In-Transit) cannot be issued by a dealer.
Temporary Registration Permit (
may be purchased at the listed offices