Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: SHARE THE ROAD LICENSE PLATE
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
|Section:||V Motor Vehicle License Plate Classifications & Requirements||Effective: || 06/09/2011|
SHARE THE ROAD LICENSE PLATE
To view Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/
To view Special Plates: http://omv.dps.state.la.us/
Louisiana law provides for the issuance of Share the Road license plates. This license plate can be issued to private passenger automobiles, vans, private pickup trucks up to 16,000 pounds and motor homes. The additional royalty fee is deposited to the Louisiana Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Fund for the purpose of promoting bicycle and pedestrian safety.
- There are no eligibility requirements for the Share the Road license plates.
- Any citizen of Louisiana can be issued, upon application, the Share the Road license plate.
- A photocopy of the registration certificate of the vehicle on which the plate will be placed if the vehicle is currently registered. OR
- If the vehicle is not registered in the applicants name, proper title documentation and fees must be submitted along with the request for the special plate.
- $25.00 - per year, in addition to regular registration fees, due at initial issuance and all subsequent renewals.
- $8.00 - handling fee due on all transactions except renewals.
- $3.50 - administrative handling fee due only on initial issuance.
- $3.00 - transfer the plate to another vehicle in the applicant’s name.
- Plates may be transferred from one vehicle in applicant's name to another vehicle in applicant's name, but cannot be transferred between owners.
Initial requests must be mailed to the Office of Motor Vehicles, Specialized Vehicle Unit, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896. All other transactions can be processed by any motor vehicle office or public tag agent.
Section IV 2.0 Basic Requirements for Obtaining a Certificate of Title
|    Back |