Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: IDENTIFICATION CARDS
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
|Section:||I Issuance of Driver's License||Effective: || 05/01/1986|
To view Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/
Any Louisiana resident may apply for an identification card.
First-time applicants for a Louisiana identification card:
- One primary and two secondary documents OR
- Two primary documents, OR
- A current Louisiana driver's license.
DUPLICATE IDENTIFICATION CARDS
Applicants applying for a duplicate Louisiana ID card will be required to provide one of the following combinations of identification:
- One primary and one secondary document, OR
- Three secondary documents, OR
- Verification through the Department's photo retrieval database.
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR APPLICANTS SIXTEEN (16) AND UNDER
The signature of the parent or legal guardian is required for the issuance of an ID card. Identification must be presented by the minor and the parent or guardian.
Applicants 15 years of age and younger have an option of a 2 year ($3 base fee) or 4 year ($5 base fee) issuance period under the Protect and Save our Children Program.
SEVENTEEN YEAR OLD APPLICANTS
Effective August 15, 2010, ACT 842 allows applicants seventeen years of age to apply for an identification card without the custodial parent/guardian's signature, provided the applicant has the necessary identifying information and documents.
If the applicant possesses a Louisiana driver's license and applies for an ID card, the name and address must be consistent. Once an applicant has established residency, the applicant is required to surrender the out-of-state driver's license and to obtain a Louisiana driver's license. Failure to do so may result in a citation (operating a motor vehicle with improper operator's license) if stopped by a law enforcement officer.
EXCEPTION: In order to comply with the Military Selective Service Act [Act 373 of 2003 Regular Legislative Session - R.S. 32: 418 and 40:1321(D)(1)], a social security number is required by all male US citizens or permanent resident aliens age 15 to 26 who apply for license or ID card. Failure to provide proof of social security number will result in a denial of issuance.
IN CASE OF EMERGENCY (ICE) INFORMATION
- An applicant has the option to provide emergency contact information. This information will be contained in the motor vehicle record.
- The ICE information will assist law enforcement and emergency personnel in notifying the contact individual in cases of emergency.
FEES / EXPIRATION
Estimated Total Fee
|4 Yr ID|
|Permanent for 60+|
|≤ 15 (2 Yr)|
|≤ 15 (4 Yr)|
Section I 6.00 Identification Requirements
6.02 Drivers License Issued for Aliens Living in Louisiana
19.02 ID cards issued for Motor Voter Purposes.
22.00 Name Usage
40.00 Selective Service
Section II 48.00 Cancellation of Identification Cards
|    Back |