Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: COMMERCIAL LICENSE PLATES
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
|Section:||V Motor Vehicle License Plate Classifications & Requirements||Effective: || 05/01/1986|
COMMERCIAL LICENSE PLATES
To view Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/
R.S. 47: 508
Commercial Use means every use of a vehicle on the highway except its private use unrelated to any business function, or its use as a common carrier or a contract/charter carrier.
Commercial Vehicle means every vehicle used or operated upon the public highway in connection with any business function except that of a common, contract or charter carrier. and except vehicles owned and used by churches, church schools and religious orders for their purposes.
The Louisiana Supreme Court ruled in 1975 as to the type plate required for private passenger vehicles used commercially, as opposed to the type plate required on private passenger vehicles operated for private use only.
- The court did rule that a vehicle used for commercial purposes should be required to carry a commercial plate. It appears that this is the case whether the vehicle is titled in a business name or in an individual's name.
- The court did not rule that if the vehicle was registered in a business name it should be required to carry a commercial plate if being used in a personal capacity.
- When registering a commercial vehicle in the name of an individual, a statement containing the name, address, and telephone number of the individual's business must be submitted.
- If a regular automobile plate is issued for a commercial vehicle, the license plate fee will be based on the selling price of the vehicle (SPOV) and will be renewable every two (2) years.
- If a commercial plate is issued, the license plate fee is $10.00 and is renewed annually on a staggered basis.
- The commercial plate may not be issued to a truck.
- Automobiles, vans and SUV's that are to be used as a commercial rental or daily leased vehicle shall either be issued a commercial plate (class code 0103) or a private commercial plate (class code 0104).
- Trucks registered with a GVWR of 10,000 lbs or less that are to be used as a commercial rental or daily leased vehicle shall be issued a regular plate with a one-year staggered sticker. The plate fee will be based on the chart indicated below:
|GROSS WEIGHT IN POUNDS ||TRUCKS CLASS 1|
|6,000 lbs. or less||$10.00|
|6,001 to 10,000||$28.00|
Section V 31.00 Vans, Private Buses, & Sport Utility Vehicles
|    Back |