Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: COMMERCIAL LEARNER'S PERMIT
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
|Section:||I Issuance of Driver's License||Effective: || 03/03/1992|
COMMERCIAL LEARNER'S PERMIT
|To view Louisiana Statutes: http:/www.legis.state.la.us/|
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
49 C.F.R. 383.25
A Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) shall be obtained for the purpose of behind-the-wheel training of a commercial motor vehicle.
- The CLP holder must be accompanied by the holder of a valid commercial driver's license (CDL) at all times. The CDL holder must have the proper class and endorsement for operation of the vehicle being used for training.
- The CLP holder must be 18 years of age or older.
- The CLP holder holds a valid driver's license issued by the same jurisdiction that issued the CLP.
- The CLP holder is not eligible to take the CDL skills test in the first 14 days after initial issuance of the CLP.
- The CDL holder must occupy the front seat of the vehicle and be in direct observation and supervision of the permit holder at all times.
- The CLP holder must possess a valid class "A", "B", "C", "D", or "E" license.
- The applicant must pass all applicable tests.
- The applicant must have a current Medical Examiner's Certificate certifying the driver is qualified under the provisions of 49 CFR 391.41.
- The applicant must complete a self-certification form, initially and anytime the type of commerce changes.
- On or after May 21, 2014, all CDL physicals must be performed by a medical examiner certified by the National Registry of Medical Examiners. Please visit https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/national-registry-certified-medical-examiners-search for a list of certified medical examiners.
- The CLP applicant must provide proof that the individual is a resident of the state of Louisiana as per 49 CFR 383.71. Acceptable documentation includes, but is not limited to the following:
- A Louisiana voter's registration card
- A Louisiana property tax receipt from the tax assessor's office, indicating the property owner is the same individual as shown on the exemption certificate.
- A copy of a lease or rental agreement on property within the State of Louisiana, indicating the lessee is the same individual.
- Utility statements (electric, gas, water, telephone, or cablevision) indicating the applicant's name and address.
- A statement on letterhead stationery, from the postmaster in the city where the applicant resides verifying the mailing address of the applicant and stating that the applicant receives mail at that address.
- W-2 Forms reflecting the applicant's name and Louisiana address.
- A current health, home or personal vehicle insurance policy reflecting the name of the applicant and the applicant's Louisiana address.
- A copy of the current telephone statement listing the physical address and the individual's name.
2211 CDL Supplemental Form App R0112.pdf MCSA-5876_12-2-2015.pdf
- A CLP will only be issued after all applicable test have been successfully completed.
- The only endorsements that can be issued on a CLP are:
- "N" - Tank
- "P" - Passenger
- "S" - School Bus
- Each endorsement indicated above will also have a corresponding restriction code. Restriction codes are:
- "N" - Tank/69 restriction
- "P" - Passenger/07 restriction
- "S" - School Bus/07 restriction.
Out-of-state students who are attending a driver training school may obtain and use an out of state CLP in combination with a valid driver's license issued by their home state (states must match) if the above requirements are met.
- All applicants shall obtain a CLP prior to the
administration of a skills test.
EXTENSION OF EXPIRATION DATE
- A CLP is issued for up to 180 days with an option to extend for an additional 180 days (if additional training time is needed). The term of the CLP cannot exceed 360 days from the date of initial issuance.
- There is no charge for the extension.
- All testing (knowledge and skills) must be completed within 360 days from the date of the initial issuance of the CLP. Failure to do so will require the applicant to restart the process.
The CLP is initially issued for a period of up to 180 days if:
- A check has been performed of the applicant's driving record to be certain there are no outstanding or pending suspensions/revocations ("L" inquiry).
- A "DLRU19/20" transaction is processed to collect the $15.00 application fee and initiate the check through CDLIS and NDR.
- The CDLIS/NDR response must indicate that there are no outstanding suspensions.
- A CDL Permit shall NOT be issued when an applicant has an "R2/RD" with a "NOT" eligible status.
- Dates must be verified before issuing the license or extending a permit .
- Scores for the passed segments of the test are only valid during initial issuance of the CLP. If the CLP is renewed, all three segments of the skills test must be retaken.
- Please review documents presented for proof of residency of Louisiana, and use discretion for documents not listed above.
Any deviation from this policy will require a supervisor’s written approval.
|    Back |