Welcome to The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
 




Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: OFF-ROAD VEHICLES 

   Back        Print  

 
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Section:IV Motor Vehicle Registration RequirementsEffective: 10/16/1987
Number:82.00Revised: 03/21/2014

OFF-ROAD VEHICLES

POLICY:

To view Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/

AUTHORITY
R.S. 47:301(17)
R.S. 47:303E
R.S. 47:304A
R.S. 47:305.25
R.S. 47:502

DEFINITION
An off-road vehicle is any vehicle manufactured for off-road use. The vehicle is issued a manufacturer's statement of origin but cannot be issued a license plate to operate on the public roads of this state. At the time of manufacture, the vehicle does not meet the safety requirements prescribed by R.S. 32:1301-1310. This group of vehicles are issued a title only by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services (i.e., all terrain vehicles and recreational and sport vehicles). The group does not include off-road vehicles used for farm purposes, farm equipment, or heavy construction equipment.

REQUIREMENTS FOR A NEW / PREVIOUSLY REGISTERED VEHICLES
The documentation required to register an off-road vehicle is the same as the basic titling requirements:
  • A completed vehicle application form (DPSMV 1799)
  • Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (new/unregistered vehicle) or title
  • Itemized invoice from dealer to purchaser or original notarized bill of sale or invoice (new/unregistered) or current certificate of title assigned before a notary by seller to purchaser, with the properly released lien, if applicable.
  • Security agreement, if applicable
  • Applicable fees (title, handling, mortgage recordation fee)
  • Applicable sales/use tax

REQUIREMENTS FOR A USED / UNREGISTERED GOLF CART
  • A completed vehicle application form (DPSMV 1799)
  • In lieu of a title, an affidavit of physical inspection shall be acceptable for titling/registration of used golf carts. The physical inspection must be performed by a full-time Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) certified law enforcement officer who has been certified by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, to inspect motor vehicles.
  • Itemized invoice from dealer to purchaser or original notarized bill of sale or invoice from the owner
  • Security agreement, if applicable
  • Applicable fees (title, handling, mortgage recordation)
  • Applicable sales/use tax
NOTE: The titling/registration requirements for new golf carts which were in a dealer's inventory prior to January 1, 2014, will be the same as for a used/unregistered golf cart.

ISSUANCE OF ORV DECAL
  • 1987 and later model year vehicle shall be issued an ORV decal and an appropriate validation sticker upon registration.
  • 1986 and earlier model year vehicle may voluntarily purchase an ORV decal upon registration.

FEES
  • $3.00 per year - 4 year expiration

NOTES
  • The odometer disclosure statement is not required.
  • R.S. 47:305.25 authorizes the purchase of off-road vehicles (3-wheelers, 4-wheelers, etc.) used exclusively on commercial farms in the production and harvesting of food and fiber for sale to be exempt from state sales/use tax. Any parish/municipality sales/use tax shall be due.
    If the applicant is claiming the commercial farm tax exemption, he must follow the attached link and complete the exemption certificate. Submit the completed form along with the required documentation to register the off road vehicle.
    A separate exemption certificate is required for each vehicle.

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/forms/taxforms/1065(4_12)F.pdf

RELATED POLICIES
Section IV 2.00 Basic Requirements for Obtaining a Certificate of Title
2.03 Completion of Application (DPSMV 1799)
2.10 Title Corrections
Section V 55.00 Off-Road Vehicle Decals


    Back