Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: DRIVER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
|Section:||I Issuance of Driver's License||Effective: || 08/01/1996|
DRIVER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
To review Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/
All first time applicants, including first-time applicants presenting a foreign driver's license, must furnish the following proof of driver education training as required by law. First time applicants from a country that has a reciprocal agreement with the Department are exempt from this requirement.
FIRST-TIME APPLICANTS -- ALL AGES
- All applicants must apply to the Office of Motor Vehicles for a Class "E" Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) prior to completing enrollment in a driver education course, driver training program or pre licensing training course. The TIP may be issued to any individual that is at least 14 years of age. The TIP allows a driver education student to operate a motor vehicle when accompanied by a driver education instructor and when completing the behind the wheel instruction or during administration of a skills test.
- Applicants shall meet all other Office of Motor Vehicles identification requirements.
- This requirement does not apply to applicants enrolled in a National Guard Youth Challenge Program.
- Any student enrolled in a driver education, driver training program or pre licensing course prior to 09/4/2018 is exempt from this requirement.
FIRST-TIME APPLICANTS -- 15 - 17 Years of Age -- must provide one of the following:
- A certificate of completion of a driver education course consisting of a minimum of thirty (30) hours classroom instruction and eight (8) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction which has been approved by the Department of Public Safety & Corrections (Passing score of 80% classroom and 70% behind the wheel) ;
- An Application and School Instruction Permit DE 1821 (R10/95) (Passing score of 75%);
- Effective 09/01/2013 - ALL Louisiana driver education providers, secondary and commercial, must use the Certificate of Successful Completion as proof that the applicant passed the driver education course. The passing score must be 80% for the classroom instruction and 70% for behind-the-wheel instruction.
- A letter on letterhead from a Louisiana high school signed by the principal or instructor, certifying completion of the course;
- An official transcript from a Louisiana school which indicates that high school course credit has been given for a driver's education course;
- If a course was completed at an out-of-state high school and accepted by a Louisiana high school, an official Louisiana high school transcript is required.
- A sixteen (16) year old applicant who has an out-of-state license or permit that has been held for at least 180 days will not be considered a "first time applicant." The sixteen (16) year old, upon providing such proof of license/permit for 180 days, can be issued an Intermediate state license (61 restriction) and NOT be required to provide proof of driver's education.
- A person, who is at a minimum in the eighth grade and within ninety days of his fifteenth birth date, may participate in the classroom instruction component ONLY of a driver education course or driving program.
- No person under the age of fifteen shall be allowed to enroll or participate in behind-the-wheel training of any driver education course or driver training program.
FIRST-TIME APPLICANTS -- 18 Years of Age or older -- must provide one of the following:
- A certificate of completion of a six (6) hour pre-licensing training course and the certificate of completion of an eight (8) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction which has been approved by the Department of Public Safety & Corrections. (Passing score of 80% classroom and 70% behind-the-wheel).
- A certificate of completion of a driver education course consisting of a minimum of thirty (30) hours classroom instruction and eight (8) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction which has been approved by the Department of Public Safety & Corrections (Passing score of 80% classroom and 70% behind the wheel)
- An "Application and School Instruction Permit DE 1821 (R 10/95)" (Passing score of 75%).
- A letter, on letterhead, from a Louisiana high school signed by the principal or instructor certifying completion of the course.
- An official transcript from a Louisiana school which indicates that high school course credit has been given for a driver's education course.
- A certificate of completion of military driver training. Applicant must provide proof of active duty status and successfully pass the knowledge and skills tests.
- If a course was completed at an out-of-state high school and accepted by a Louisiana high school, an official Louisiana high school letter or a copy of the Louisiana high school transcript is required.
- An eighteen (18) year old or older or parent or guardian of a seventeen (17) year old first time applicant for a Class "E" license shall provide a signed statement to the department attesting he has completed a minimum of fifty hours of supervised driving practice with a licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least twenty-one (21) or older. At least fifteen (15) of these hours must be night time driving.
- If the applicant for a Class "E" license is seventeen (17) years of age and is emancipated, the applicant shall provide the attestation for himself, provided that the applicant has the necessary identifying information and documentation.
- Effective September 16, 2013, the minor applicant (seventeen years of age and younger) must also present a completed Certification of Required Attendance form indicating his enrollment / attendance status. A current Certificate of Required School Attendance must be submitted or verified each time a minor makes application with the Office of Motor Vehicles (to lift the 02 restriction, be issued a duplicate, be issued a Class E (at age 17) or request a change of address). Effective 08/01/2014, the current school attendance form is valid for 90 days from the date of issuance.
- Out of State Certificate of Required School Attendance forms will be acceptable. The out of state certificate must be on school letterhead and contain the applicant's name and current enrollment/attendance status.
- For home study or registered non public school students, the parent/guardian must submit one of the following documents each time a minor makes application with the OMV (as stated above) :
- SBESE home study - signed and approved Home Study Approval Notification Letter. This letter is valid for one year from the date on the letter and must be renewed annually.
- Private option - signed Registered non public School: Registration Confirmation Letter verifying registration of the non public school. This letter is valid for one year from the date of the letter and must be renewed annually.
- If the applicant has graduated or attained the high school equivalency diploma, he may present the diploma upon application in lieu of the Certification of Required Attendance.
- International driver's licenses are not acceptable to waive appropriate driver's education course or as identification.
Approved driving schools are listed at expresslane.org
CERTIFICATES OF COMPLETION
The following documentation is acceptable to certify course completion:
- A Certificate of Successful Completion.
- Application and School Instruction Permit DE 1821.
- A letter from a Louisiana high school or an official transcript from a Louisiana school which indicates that high school course credit has been given for a driver's education course.
- A Certificate of Successful Completion of Military Driver Training.
LOST CERTIFICATES OF COMPLETION
If an applicant has lost or misplaced his original certificate of completion, he may obtain a duplicate copy of the original from the school or provider. The duplicate copy will be accepted in lieu of the original, provided it contains the signature of the owner, manager or director certifying that the certificate is a duplicate of the original.
Section I 1.00 Classes of Licenses and Age Requirements
6.02 Driver's License Issuance for Aliens Temporarily Residing in Louisiana
8.00 Authorization/Licensing of Minor's Application for a Driver's License
8.02 Provisional Custody by Mandate
18.01 Reciprocity with Other Countries
Section II 16.00 Privileges Cancelled by Request of Parent
|    Back |