LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
|Section:||V Motor Vehicle License Plate Classifications & Requirements||Effective: || 10/28/1986|
To view Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us/
To view Special Plates: http://omv.dps.state.la.us/
The law provides that the Office of Motor Vehicles shall establish procedures by which persons who transport vehicles of any type, by any method, may obtain transporter plates.
Any person who is engaged in the business of transporting and delivering any new or used motor vehicle when such vehicles are being moved over the highways of Louisiana.
Each applicant for a transporter plate shall present evidence satisfactory to the Office of Motor Vehicles that the applicant is covered by a liability insurance policy or bond covering public liability and property damage. The policy or bond shall be for not less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for public liability and for not less than five thousand dollars ($5,000) for property damage.
All applicants for a transporter plate must have an established place of business in Louisiana, which is defined as a physical structure, owned, leased, or rented by the applicant, which has persons physically located at the business location during normal business hours for the purpose of conducting transporting related business.
Transporter plates are valid for a one-year period.
- Transporter plates may be used in lieu of other license plates required by law for transporting any vehicle, including but not limited to, mobile homes, other trailers, trucks, and other motor vehicles.
- The plate is not to be used on the power (pulling) unit.
- The power unit must be properly licensed with a "weight" plate.
- The transporter plate must be placed on the vehicle being transported.
- Transporter plates are intended for use only by
those not eligible for dealer plates.
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION
The Office of Motor Vehicles reserves the right to suspend or revoke the privilege of any person to utilize transporter plates if it is established that said person has used or has allowed the use of a transporter plate for purposes other than what is stated by law or by this policy.
Section IV 2.0 Basic Requirements for Titling a Vehicle