Welcome to The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
 




Home > OMV Policy & Procedure: FEES AND DURATION OF LICENSE / ID CARD 

   Back        Print  

 
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Section:I Issuance of Driver's LicenseEffective: 05/01/1986
Number:2.00Revised: 08/20/2018

FEES AND DURATION OF LICENSE / ID CARD

POLICY:

To review Louisiana Statutes: http://www.legis.state.la.us

AUTHORITY
R.S. 32:412
R.S. 32:412 .1
R.S. 32:429
R.S. 30:2511(D)
R.S. 40:1321

DEFINITION
  • Duration and the fees for all driver licenses and identification cards are determined by the class as shown below.
Application
Fee
License
Fee
Handling
Fee
Service
Fee
Estimated
Total Fee
Class A/B/C (CDL)
6 Yr
$15.00
$61.50
$0-$6.00
$76.50 - $82.50
6 Yr (Orleans)
$15.00
$76.50
$0-$6.00
$91.50 - $97.50
Add $12 for MC endorsement
Add $7.50 for each endorsement
Class D (Chauffeurs)
6 Yr
$42.75
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$54.75 - $60.75
6 Yr (Orleans)
$54.00
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$66.00 - $72.00
6 Yr (70+)
$22.13
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$34.13 - $40.13
6 Yr (70+/Orleans)
$27.75
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$39.75 - $45.75
Add $12 for MC endorsement
Class E (Personal)
6 Yr
$20.25
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$32.25 - $38.25
6 Yr (70+)
$6.75
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$18.75 - $24.75
Add $12 for MC endorsement
Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP)
6 Yr
$20.25
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$32.25 -$38.25
6 Yr (70+)
$6.75
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$18.75 -$24.75
NOTE: A $15 delinquent fee is required if license is expired more than 10 calendar days.
There is no delinquent fee for applicants age 70+ or non-permanent residents.


Identification Card
4 Yr ID
$10.00
$8.00
$0-$6.00
$18.00 - $24.00
Permanent for 60+
Free
$0
$0
$0
≤ 15 (2 Yr)
$3.00
$8.00
$0-$6.00
$11.00 - $17.00
≤ 15 (4 Yr)
$5.00
$8.00
$0-$6.00
$13.00 - $19.00
NOTE: A registered Sex Offender does not qualify for a free driver's license or Identification Card.


Motorcycle Endorsement
6 Yr - at renewal or 1st time issue
$12.00
$12.00
<6 Yr - any time between renewal
$6.00
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$18.00 - $24.00
NOTE: The road skills test is not required if the applicant has completed the Department of
Public Safety Motorcycle Safety Awareness and Operators Training Program. Proof of course
completion is required upon application.


Duplicate License
Class A/B/C
$5.00
$0-$6.00
$5.00 - $11.00
Class D/E - 6 yr expiration
$5.00
$12.00
$0-$6.00
$17.00 - $23.00
Class D/E - 4 yr expiration
$5.00
$8.00
$0-$6.00
$13.00 - $19.00
Duplicate ID
≤ 59 yrs of age
$5.00
$8.00
$0-$6.00
$13.00 - $19.00
60+ yrs of age
No charge


RELATED POLICIES
Section I 4:00 Renewals, Class and Restriction Changes Between Renewals
4.01 Drivers License Renewal by Mail, Internet, or IVR


    Back